Review: Heartstopper Volume 2 by Alice Oseman

43307358. sy475

Goodreads | Amazon

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. 
Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie’s gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn’t. 
But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family … and himself. 
Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. 

What can I say other than I love Heartstopper and having these books in physical form makes me so happy? I’m actually up to date completely with the webcomic, but I love reading these as they come out.

Anything Alice Oseman ever does will warm my heart and being able to sit down and just devour these books makes me feel so cosy. I read this in about half an hour in the middle of a thunderstorm and it was perfect. Oseman’s art style is lovely and has such a good flow, I can easily flick through the pages.

Volume 2 focuses a lot on Nick coming out and discovering himself, and normalising that it’s okay to question who you are was such a central theme of the book. As always, Nick and Charlies’ friends and family are great and make for entertaining scenes. Some of my favourite scenes are naturally with Nick’s dog and the little ‘borks’ never fail to make me smile!

Overall, if you’re looking for a cute, heartwarming graphic novel that flows beautifully and centres around LGBT characters and coming out, please pick this up.

Or, go and read it on Tumblr or Tapas!

★★★★★
5 out of 5 stars

-Beth

May your shelves forever overflow with books! ☽

Shop | Goodreads | Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter | Facebook |

Let’s Discuss! Meeting Alice Oseman and Lauren James

I had another exciting opportunity recently in the form of a book signing! Although it makes me so nervous to meet my favourite authors, it’s always so fun and I end up having an awesome time.

This time, I was lucky enough to meet Alice Oseman and Lauren James. Alice is the author of Solitaire, I Was Born for this, Radio Silence and the Webcomic turned graphic novel series, Heartstopper. She was signing to promote Heartstopper, and being interviewed by Lauren James! Lauren is the author of The Next Together, The Loneliest Girl in the Universe and The Quiet at the End of the World. The Quiet was only released last month, and I’m super excited to read it!

I actually met Lauren a couple of years ago when she only had The Next Together and The Last Beginning out. It was so awesome to meet her again having read a few of her books and really enjoyed them.

It was such a cute and small venue, which made the event so intimate and casual. Lauren interviewed Alice, then they both answered questions in a q&a session and signed books! As it was so small, we had as much time as we needed with the authors, which was awesome. Also featuring my lovely friend Chloe who I went with!

How cute are the little doodles they both did in the books?! Overall, I had such a fun and special night that I won’t forget anytime soon.

-Beth

May your shelves forever overflow with books! ☽

Shop | Goodreads | Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter | Facebook |

Stacking the Shelves #86

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga where we share books we’ve bought this week. Find out more and join in here!

Hello readers! I know – I finally bought a book again. After 4 months of being on a book ban, I have now finished 20 books and I’m buying books once again. It was so weird walking into a shop yesterday and actually purchasing books, but I’m so happy!

However, I do think I’m going to be more careful about what I’m buying and how much I spend on books. Being on a ban has made me realise that I don’t need to buy the amount of books I need to, and I can be satisfied with the ones I have waiting for me on my shelf!

42189109

Goodreads | Amazon

Charlie Spring is in Year 10 at Truham Grammar School for Boys. The past year hasn’t been too great, but at least he’s not being bullied anymore, and he’s sort of got a boyfriend, even if he’s kind of mean and only wants to meet up in secret.
Nick Nelson is in Year 11 and on the school rugby team. He’s heard a little about Charlie – the kid who was outed last year and bullied for a few months – but he’s never had the opportunity to talk to him. That is, until the start of January, in which Nick and Charlie are placed in the same form group and made to sit together.
They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and sometimes good things are waiting just around the corner…

I read the Webcomic (Tumblr here and Tapas here) of Heartstopper after Chloe recommended it to me a while ago and absolutely fell in love. Thank you Chloe! Honestly, this comic for me was one of those things I didn’t expect to fall so hard for. The art style is beautiful, and I knew I needed the physical version, not just because I’m meeting Alice tomorrow with Chloe!

It’s so soft and fluffy and so adorable. I loved it, and I read through this version this afternoon with a smile on my face.

-Beth

May your shelves forever overflow with books! ☽

Shop | Goodreads | Instagram | Tumblr | Twitter | Facebook |